Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Noob here, need help with 86 Scottsdale

Search this Thread

Old January 24th, 2012, 10:39 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here, need help with 86 Scottsdale

Hey guys, so I just bought my new toy. It is an 86 Chevrolet Scottsdale 10 (or so the fender says).

Its seems to be a bit frankenstein though. The truck is 8 lug, and 4wd witha solid front axle and manual hubs. I believe that "10" means 1/2 ton, but someone must have done some things to it.

Either way, here are my issues. The brakes first.......when I test drove it today before I bought it the rear brakes just lock up when you barely hit the brake pedal. It is so touchy, and I mean really touchy. You can hardly tough it light enough to just slow down without it locking up. I was told to bleed the lines, and check that the front brakes are grabbing. I didn't know if anyone out there hand any other ideas I should pursue tomorrow along with that.

#2 is that none of the gauges work the speedo just bounces around, and the fuel gauge stays above the "F" mark. The oil pressure is maxed out, and the temp gauge stays in the middle. Could that be one issue or am I looking at multiple sending units??

Thanks in advance for any help.
Old January 25th, 2012, 5:59 AM
CF Pro Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Fenders were really a weak point for rusting out on those square bodies and yours have been replaced somewhere along the line with fenders off of a half ton.

Pull the rear drums and you'll more than likely find the axle seals leaking.

First, make sure you've got a good battery to body to dash ground.