Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

noob here, just brought home an '07 LTZ and have ?

Search this Thread

Old April 15th, 2006, 12:46 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default noob here, just brought home an '07 LTZ and have ?

Hey its good to know there are forums for stuff like this. I know it can be very helpful. I have a question for those that have the new 20 inch polished wheels. Mine look "milky" or hazy and not at all finished in appearance. Is this intentional? Is it a different kind of polish or finish? I suppose they are clear coated and should not take a polisher to them.

Thanks for any feedback
Old April 19th, 2006, 1:19 AM
CF Active Member

Default RE: noob here, just brought home an '07 LTZ and have ?

yeah dude they have a heavy clear coat so that they don't fall apart like the damn aluminium 16" wheel on the 2500 silverado's. heavy clear coat = better protection from oxydation
Old April 19th, 2006, 6:49 PM
Administrator

Received 154 Likes on 152 Posts

Have you looked at any other LTZs w/ the 20" wheels? Not sure clear coat should look that way on new wheels. I had an IROC-Z Camaro[sm=burnout.gif] (1987) and after 12 years, the clearcoat started to dull a little.
Old April 23rd, 2006, 2:26 AM
CF Active Member

yeah it's just the way they're making these wheels, aftermarket wheels's won't look anything like this because there's no warranty, yet on these they need to last at least 3/36. . but yeah i don't know why they're making them the way that they are, but they are..lol.. sorry no real answer on that
Old April 23rd, 2006, 11:43 AM
CF Senior Member