Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Opinion on Chevy 1500 trucks '96-'98

Search this Thread

Old March 12th, 2009, 11:52 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face Opinion on Chevy 1500 trucks '96-'98

To all you chevy 1500 guys.

I am new to chevy trucks and looking to buy a 1500 between '96-'98. I have read lot of engine related problems on '99-'04 chevy 5.3 V8 engines like piston slap, fuel pump, fuel gauge, 4WD switch assembly, 4WD electronic actuator and more. I want to know what are the common problems on the 5.7 V8 found on '96-'98 chevy 1500???

I know the 5.7 have intake gasket problems and fuel pump and fuel gauge issues and ball joints and tie rods going bad for trucks around 120K miles. I want to know does the 5.7 also have piston slap issues and ticking noises like valve lifters problems??? Any other problems I should know when check out before buying.

I am just very hesitant to spend $4K - $5K for about 140K miles plus Chevy 1500 and then spend more money to fix engine problems and fuel related problems over again and again.

Thanks guys.

Here's quote from a GM Technician about the 5.3 piston slap issue:

"these engines are known to have lifter noise [at higher mileage] and
consiquently yours is right at the mileage that most of them start to
occur. usually it is from using penzoil or other parifin base oils over the
duration of the engines life span. the majority of the time what i've seen
personally is lifters sticking in the bores and number one cam bearing
spinning. the oil passage for the lifters is from the #1 cam bearing and
usually this will cause the "lifter noise" you are talking about. the best
way to check this is remove a rocker cover and check for oil to the heads.