Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Performance Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old November 23rd, 2007, 2:13 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Performance Exhaust

Hi everyone. I'm new to enhancing my 2002 Silverado and I have a few questions that I thought someone here might have some answers to. My Silverado is the 5.3 Liter, 2002 LS Extended cab, short bed. When I bought a replacement K&N air filter I found out that I needed the part for the HD truck. The only reason I could come up with was the I have the towing package... could this be the reason? The reason I'm concerned about this is because I've been looking into performance cat-back exhaust systems. Could this mean that I have a HD exhaust system, and would it be different from the normal Silverado's?

I'm mostly interested in buying the system for the power, and if I could arrange it, I'd like to keep the volume as close to stock as possible. From what I've been seeing, I think I've narrowed it down to Dynomax and Gibson. Does anyone know which one of these would be the quietest and which would be the best for performance? I really don't want to sacrifice low end torque! Can anyone give me insight into how these systems behave?

Thank you so much for the help!
Old November 26th, 2007, 10:11 AM
CF Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Performance Exhaust