Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Project Sandman ! I NEED HELP ! INPUT

Search this Thread

Old April 26th, 2009, 5:59 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Project Sandman ! I NEED HELP ! INPUT

Dear Fourm Readers,
I am restoring a 92' Chevy Pickup 4x2 4.3 V6 regular cap Full Size 8Ft bed It was my dads but he sold it to me for 250, i already have a car and I am a CAP Student, anyhow I am restoring this truck and i want the body to remain pretty much the same , i want it to be a sleeper, but i need to no how can i make this truck one, what can i do to beef it all up i no its going to take awhile many many years for money to come in etc , but how can i make it the sleeper i am looking for what i can do for the engine to gain horespower and tranny options? Rear axel ? it has an automatic in it to ... Please i need your input i Thank you All!! QUESTION JUST ASK!!!
Old April 26th, 2009, 9:51 PM
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

ford nine inch rear end!! dont like fords but those rear ends are bullet proof! And its a truck with a v6??? Not going to be much of a sleeper get a 350 with a 400 crank(383 ) and the ford nine inch rear end then you will have sleeper
Old April 27th, 2009, 3:18 PM
Super Moderator

Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts

Suzuki-guy's right, with a six-banger, it's not a sleeper, it's just asleep.

There's a hell of a cost issue to making it a sleeper. You also have to keep it toned down, or you give it away. The point of a "sleeper" originally was to appear to have a dreadful car, appear to be drunk, then hustle the OTHER guy for his pink slip. Making it fast is costly, but hiding all that power is REALLY expensive.