Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Rust on my K1500

Search this Thread

Old August 30th, 2010, 5:47 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rust on my K1500

I just got my hands on my grandfathers 1998 K1500. Its been sitting in his garage for the past 4 years and only has 65k miles on it since he bought it brand new. Any way, ive noticed a good amount of rust on the frame but no holes that i can see. I recently discovered rust bullet and would love to clean up the frame and get some rust bullet for it. The problem is that im an amateur when it comes to auto repair and would rather do this the right way by getting everything out of the way as best i can so i can really clean up the frame. Ive only had the truck for a year and already loving it and i want to make it last as long as i can. Anyone have some good advice for an amateur that would like to learn all he can about this truck and how to take care of it?
Old September 6th, 2010, 9:55 PM
CF Beginner

Well my friend, welcome to what I call the "Neverending fight against cancer".

I have a 1991 Silverado, and I too am trying to maintain it and keep it running as long as possible. My father bought it new in 1991 and sold it to me in 2005 with roughly 88,000 miles on it. It now has 134,000 miles on it, and the fenders are rusting some. I dremel it out, use bondo, primer paint, and cans of spray paint touch up from the Auto stores. This is a once a year process, that I generally do in the summer each year before fall so that it is at its best for winter.

It is a 4x4, and my other car is a Camaro, so it is my winter ride throughout the snowy months here in Ohio. I do have a few tips for you from my experiences that may help you make yours last long too.