Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Transmission rebuild, now engine oil leak... Help!!

Search this Thread

Old July 4th, 2014, 11:35 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission rebuild, now engine oil leak... Help!!

Happy 4th of July to everyone out there!! This is my first time posting on this site, so I thank anyone in advance for advice.

I just had a complete rebuild on the transmission of my 2000 silverado, 5.3, L460E transmission this past week. Runs well.... But I had a bit of a shimmy going down the highway taking it home. I noticed that I was missing some tire weights on one of my tires, so I took it to tire kingdom to have them balanced.

In good fashion, they tried to up-sell on me, informing me that I had an oil leak. I said that I would take care of it. Got it home and looked underneath and everything was coated in engine oil, although my level was ok. I decided to drop the pan and replace the gasket, thinking this would be the best place to start. I did so, and after a long day, I noticed that the oil was still leaking after test driving. I notice that its coming from around the rear near the oil filter, where the tranny bell housing meets with the engine fly wheel. I did inspect this area yesterday, and the flywheel was dry when I dropped the pan, so I didnt think that it was the main seal.

My question is, is there any way that when I had the transmission rebuilt, that they may have messed up the rear seal?