Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Want to lift 01 Siverado cheap

Search this Thread

Old June 19th, 2010, 7:44 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to lift 01 Siverado cheap

Hey everyone,

I own a 01 silverado Z71 with the 5.3L 4 wheel drive. Its coompletely stock at the moment. I am wanting to do a small lift and have heard of putting blocks under the back leaf springs and tightening the torsion bars. my buddy did this on his 01 F150 and was wondering if i can do this on my truck? If so does this way of lifting put to much torque or pressure anywhere that could cause a failure? Im new to the truck modding world so any help would be appreciated.
Old June 19th, 2010, 9:40 PM
Super Moderator

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

you most likely can..look up under your truck and see if u see the torsion bars.. if you DO this.. remember get a alignment asap! but you will only get maybe 1" or 2" outta the front.. and the ride will turn rough
Old June 20th, 2010, 4:27 PM
Super Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

buy some new torsion keys from ready lift...i tightened mine up and only got like an inch and half out of it but put the new keys in and got 2.5 with room to keep goin up...and then put the blocks to raise the rear
Old June 20th, 2010, 5:26 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

x2 with country_09. i think your rear blocks are 2 inches stock. so probably wanna do 3 inch blocks.
Old July 25th, 2010, 11:48 PM
CF Beginner

Thank you all for your input and sorry for the delay on feedback. I plan to purchase a new set of torsion bars soon and then have the allignment follow that same day.
Old July 26th, 2010, 1:33 AM
CF Active Member