Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

2001 Tahoe Transfer Case Issues: C0308 & C0327

Search this Thread

Old July 10th, 2012, 8:51 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Tahoe Transfer Case Issues: C0308 & C0327

Hey everyone, I'm new to these message boards and I just want to start out by thanking anyone & everyone who takes the time to help me out with this issue that I'm currently having with my vehicle. Here's some background information:

Vehicle information:
2001 Chevy Tahoe
5.3L V8 Motor (8th VIN Code: T)
246-NP8 Transfer Case

Codes present:
C0308-Motor A/B Circuit Low
C0327-Encoder Circuit

Parts already replaced:
Transfer Case Selector Switch (New)
Transfer Case Encoder Motor Assembly (Used)

The story:
I acquired this Tahoe with the "Service 4WD" message on the dashboard. There was also no lights lit up on the Transfer Case Selector Switch in the dashboard. I've successfully replaced a Transfer Case Selector Switch on a 2002 Tahoe with a B2725 code in it. I wish (and still hope) that this repair were that simple. I got cocky and didn't scan the vehicle before I bought & installed a new Selector Switch. That was a dumb move. I probably should know better.