Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

5.7 Vortec, rich, misfire 3,7

Search this Thread

Old September 13th, 2014, 10:18 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 5.7 Vortec, rich, misfire 3,7

First off, I hope everyone is having a great weekend.

Now for the meat;

97 Suburban 4x4, 5.7 Vortec; 250k miles. Owned for over 10 years and have put in less then $1500 in repairs, 2 fuel pumps, water pump, alt, 2 sets of brakes, 2 sets of plugs, cap/wires ect... May have spent 100k on fuel, but that's all part of the fun

But my bragging rights have came to a screeching halt, as I have a feeling this repair may humble me a bit.

And so it began;
I work in the powersport field and for the past 6 years have been dumping gas from watercraft, sleds, 4-wheelers and old motorcycles into my Sub. Never really had any troubles, maybe a day or two of some pinging but always cleared up. About a month ago I put about 5 gal of some suspect fuel in, a few days later I ran into some mornings with rough idle. One morning a no start, gave her a spray of starting fluid and she came to life and was good for another week. Then the rough morning idles came back, every 3 days to every other till it was every day, then constantly rough, it never cleaned up. During this time I have filled the tank, about 40 gallons added at 10 gal a week.

Finally no matter what I did the truck would not run good, it ran starving for fuel, idled good but when gave throttle it would stumble. It drove but was not happy. Last Saturday I limped it to a friends shop, I couldn't make it home, 15 MPH top speed.