Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

97 Tahoe crusing 200-300 rpm fluxuations

Search this Thread

Old August 17th, 2007, 5:43 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 Tahoe crusing 200-300 rpm fluxuations

I made a post the other day that I thought my tranny kept shifting between 3rd and 4th randomly at freeway speed (50-70mph). I'm not all too familiar with transmission, but it dawned on my that this fluxuation that randomly accurs isnt so random after all. I realised that this 200-300 avg. rpm drop/rise happens on parts with a gradual incline and sometimes flat. I have limited knowledge on transmissions but this lead me to believe that it is the torque converter locking and unlocking. As little as a second intervals and has done it for miles off and on. I also realized that if it were shifting between 3rd and overdrive then the rpm jump/drop would be around 700 rpms at 60 mph, a much larger change then whats accually accuring.

So, Im wondering if my conclusion is accurate, if people have had this happen, and what can be done to fix this/price. The transmission shifts strong and smooth so the torque conveter would be the only thing I'd want to fix. Im thinking that the locking mechanism itself or possibly a computer is messed up. Please correct me If I'm wrong about my conclusion.

-Chris

97 2 dr Tahoe LT
105k miles
Old August 19th, 2007, 1:25 AM
CF Beginner

Default RE: 97 Tahoe crusing 200-300 rpm fluxuations

That certainly makes sense to me. My 97 was doing a similar thing today while driving 65mph. It almost feels like it is occasionally mis-firing or something, but the engine runs flawlessly under 55mph. I'm glad you posted this. Now I have someplace to look to fix this. I will let you know if I find out any information about this.