Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Chevy 5.3 ticking sound

Search this Thread

Old June 20th, 2023, 3:11 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Chevy 5.3 ticking sound

hello, this is my first time attempting to get help from a forum but im 19 and quite frankly im worried about the noise my motor is making. I bought a 2005 suburban about a month ago and after about a week of owning it my check engine light came on and i heard a ticking sound. I scanned it and it told me that an engine misfire was detected so i went looking to see if my oil was low, and it was, so i got it changed. that did not help the issue and i ended up taking it to a mechanic shop where they told me that my issue was that i had carbon buildup on the tops of my cylinders. they did a whole bunch of things with additives in my gasoline as well as my oil but the issue persists. it happens on cold start, warm start, and will not go away with driving. sometimes it is not present at all and other times its very loud. I also sometimes have a hard time starting the vehicle and at this point, im worried that the previous owner spun a bearing or its legitimate lifter tick. I read somewhere else online that it could be related to a hole in my exhaust manifold assembly, but ive also read that it could be related to a lifter being stuck closed/open related to the AFM. I dont even know if my vehicle has AFM and at this point, im just trying to get a better understanding from people who have had this issue previously. (note, I have checked my oil pressure and level and they are both normal) Thanks!
Old June 20th, 2023, 8:25 PM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

@ZondaLegs
Your 2005 GM truck would not have AFM..