Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Disconnecting EGR / Evap valves

Search this Thread

Old January 2nd, 2008, 4:09 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disconnecting EGR / Evap valves

Hello everyone!I just started playing around with my 98 Tahoe 4x4 and am in the process of messing around with the intake manifold (and the aweful CSFI)as well asputting headers on it. My main question is about the EGR and evap stuff on the intake mainfold. I dont need the emission controls to pass anything so I am wondering if I can take off the EGR and evap and put block off plates on the manifold (headers dont have a fitting for the EGR) or if doing so would throw the computer into a fit. I also have a superchips programmer if it makes any difference.

Thanks for any help!
Old January 2nd, 2008, 10:27 PM
Administrator

Received 170 Likes on 168 Posts
Default RE: Disconnecting EGR / Evap valves

Welcome to the Tahoe forum. My suspicion is that when you start removing emission items that affect the operation of the engine, then your computer is going to throw codes. []

It might be so bad that the SuperChips won't even work right.
Old January 3rd, 2008, 12:42 AM
CF Beginner

Wanna find out? Since the EGR isnt active until everything warms up real well it shouldnt be any big deal to unplug it for a couple mins and see if the engine sorts it out or if the superchips can deal with it etc... I would try it but I sort of have no intake on mine atm, not to mention headers or an exhaust system lol.