Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Fellow Chevy Fan looking for some info

Search this Thread

Old March 16th, 2010, 10:16 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fellow Chevy Fan looking for some info

Hey everyone, sorry for the long post, I have some background info.

Don't laugh, but im trying to wire up a system in my 2000 Astro LT AWD that will let me have "selectable" AWD, meaning I can run 2wd, locked 4wd, and auto AWD(how it runs stock).

The way the AWD system works in the Astro is that it has an auto transfer case which can vary torque distribution between 0:100 and 50:50. It varies the torque based on info received from the wheel sensors front and back so when it sense slip it sends power forward.

What I would like to do is take the 4wd selector switches out of a 2000 or so suburban and put it in the van where "Auto 4wd" makes it work as is, "2wd" forces it to stay in 2wd and 4hi/lo forces a 50:50 split.

I was hoping someone here could help me out in finding the pin configuration on the switch. Here is a picture of what i am talking about.

At this point im just thinking, I know that this will be a pain even if the switch works the way i hope it does(not all computer communication. An help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Masstro

Last edited by Masstro; March 16th, 2010 at 10:22 PM.
Old March 17th, 2010, 10:28 AM
CF Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think the switch you have is probably all computer communication on the GMLAN or whichever data bus GM used in that era.

From what I can tell, you want to use the switch to provide 3 discreet outputs. 2HI, 4HI and Auto and then use these inputs to trick the transfer case into doing what you want it to do.