Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

OBD2 Code reader and Chev Suburban with "Service 4WD" display

Search this Thread

Old June 17th, 2021, 1:52 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OBD2 Code reader and Chev Suburban with "Service 4WD" display

Hello,
I'm new to GM products. Bought a 2004 Suburban to pull my boat. Today it says "Service 4WD" on the dash.
Looking at the forum, I'm unclear whether a cheap Bluetooth OBD2 reader with Android software will read a code for that. Or even if a more dedicated reader off of Amazon will do it.
Is there a cheap way to get codes for this, which I'm assuming is a GM specific code.

Also, I found this website to troubleshoot the issue, which I have yet to do. Wondering if there are better troubleshooting directions, or if this is pretty good.

Thanks.
Old June 17th, 2021, 4:20 PM
CF Beginner

I did start the truck and noticed that none of the yellow dots were lit in the 4WD/2WD area. I pressed on the side of the area (not on any buttons) and then the 2Hi light lit up.
I suppose I have the poor solder joint problem or need new buttons then, right?
Old June 18th, 2021, 9:53 AM
CF Pro Member

Received 163 Likes on 152 Posts

Originally Posted by BMWFan
I did start the truck and noticed that none of the yellow dots were lit in the 4WD/2WD area. I pressed on the side of the area (not on any buttons) and then the 2Hi light lit up.
I suppose I have the poor solder joint problem or need new buttons then, right?
I would say so. Do a parts search and see if that switch is being made in the aftermarket. My old '99 Yuk switch was being made in the aftermarket and that tells me it's a issue part.
Old June 18th, 2021, 11:20 AM
CF Beginner

I re-soldered the plug connections on the switch and will give that a try.
Old July 6th, 2021, 9:59 AM