Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Weep Hole on Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old January 13th, 2013, 4:48 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Weep Hole on Exhaust

In November I took my 08 Suburban to a local dealer for a check engine light. I also noticed a small hole in back of muffler with some rust around it. I enquired about the hole as I'm not a mechanic. The dealer said the code for the light was PO121 for a sticking throttle body. They replaced the throttle body for $405 and educated me on the weep hole in the muffler. Now I know. Within two weeks I had a check engine light intermittenly. One time the check fuel cap warning came on and I tightened. The light came back on I replaced the gas cap with a locking cap. My wife bought a code reader and I finally got around to checking the codes last week. They are P0449 and P0455 both emissions systems codes. After researching I was looking for the Evap Emiss Vent Valve Solenoid to see if it was easily replaced. I've seen forums discussion that say if done by owner it's less than an hour and $100. Didn't want to give money to dealer I didn't need to if I could help it. As I was looking I discovered the weep hole had been welded shut on the muffler. Besides condensation buildup rusting out the muffler what other problems would be caused because somebody welded the weep hole closed? Thank you for any advice and info.
Old January 13th, 2013, 5:11 PM
Administrator

Received 43 Likes on 43 Posts

blocking the hole will most likely lead to premature failure of the muffler...
Old January 13th, 2013, 5:55 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Weep hole reply