Tahoe & Suburban DIY and Useful Threads This section is for DIY writeups, FAQs, and other useful threads. If you would like something posted in here, please contact a moderator.

2009 Subruban LTZ Misfire/Cylinder Problem

Search this Thread

Old April 29th, 2017, 6:33 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2009 Subruban LTZ Misfire/Cylinder Problem

Good evening all, greetings from Lake Havasu City, AZ!

I have a '09 Suburban 1500 LTZ with the L76 6.0L/V8 engine that I'm having a great deal of problems with right now. It's running horrible and OBD is throwing a P0307 Cylinder 7 Misfire Detected and, did I mention it's running like crap! I'll preface my story by saying I'm not a mechanic I only play one on Google but I do consider myself an expert problem solver and usually grasp a good understanding of the things I'm working on!

So for starters the fuel pump was replaced a couple years ago. Just after a year on the new pump the repalcement failed, shop said this was common, warrantied it and life was good - for a while. Then I started having power and stalling problems. Took it to Chevy and they said bad cat's so the shop (not Chevy) replaced the two cats. I later heard a rumor that there are in fact 3 cats but I have not confirmed this yet. And, the check engine light is on. But, it did run alright.

Last week I got a warning to service the traction control and the car started running like crap. My first though was that it was a bad sensor and maybe it was trying to rapidly apply the breaks which would account for the shaking. Today I scanned it looking for a traction control code and instead got the cylinder 7 error.

First thing I did was new plugs and wires, cleared codes. That did not fix it.

Then I swapped the ignition coil from cylinder 1 to 7, cleared codes. That did not fix it, the error stayed on C7.