Uplander 2005-2009
This sport-van offers a sporty feel and roomy interior, all in the body of a minivan.
Platform: U-Body

2006 Uplander Thermostat Location and Replacement

Search this Thread

Old August 9th, 2017, 9:49 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2006 Uplander Thermostat Location and Replacement

I am wondering if anyone can help me. I have a 2006 Chevy Uplander 3.5L. Lately, I believe the thermostat is going out. It will heat up randomly sometimes a little and sometimes a lot. Sometimes it will undercool, and sometimes it will remain at good temps.

I am not a mechanic nor am I new to working on a vehicle. However, I simply do not know where the thermostat is. I have not gotten the chance to get out there and look too heavily, (Im on medical leave from the Dept of Correction due to an injury to my knee so Ive been avoiding standing around the engine working on it), but I plan to this weekend. i have a thermostat coming in the mail on Monday (I live in the middle of nowhere so everything is 30-60min or more away) and before I go out there tearing things apart I would like to see if someone knows where the thermostat is located on the Uplander. I know there is a difference between the 3.5L and 3.9L and the years. I can find a decent amount of information for the 2005 and other models and years, but nothing for the 2006 3.5L other than brief text instructional on autozone.

Can someone help me in explaining to me (pictures very much appreciated) on how to change the thermostat on the Uplander.
Old August 9th, 2017, 11:16 PM
Super Moderator

Received 507 Likes on 467 Posts

if you have little heat at idle and a lot more when held at 2500rpm test when the engine is warmed up ...its a symptom of air in the system. have the system vacuum filled.
Old August 9th, 2017, 11:59 PM
CF Beginner

I was thinking that it might be and that I might need to burp it, but I was leaning more towards the thermostat