Venture 1997-2005
This minivan from Chevy offers a sporty look as well as all of the modern additons of the minivan market.
Platform: U-Body

02 Venture p0420 question

Search this Thread

Old December 13th, 2013, 6:53 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02 Venture p0420 question

Hello everyone,
02 chev venture LS - 159k miles

I had some exhaust work done earlier today and about 6 hours later my service engine light came on. I stopped at autozone and had them scan it and p0420 came up. I know that it's the catalyst efficiency below threshold bank 1 code and I did research it and found it could be anything from spark plugs and wires to the cat itself. I read all about all of that fun stuff....
My question for you folks is- is there some kind of correlation between having my exhaust fixed and this code coming up? Is there something that fixing the exhaust leak (and muffler) would cause this code to come up? I am not a mechanic but I do know basic car stuff (how to change a tire/oil & tune ups and other routine fixes) so I don't have the benefit of lots of car experience. If you can think of anything let me know. Thanks!
Old December 14th, 2013, 3:56 PM
CF Junior Member

Hello
DTC that which originates the O2sensor, in principle reflects an abnormal presence of oxygen in the exhaust gas. Just like stoichiometric wrong.

it depends on what part you worked, but if you have worked on, just a gasket is not properly seated, or a leak, so that air is sucked (deceleration for example) and detected by the O2 sensor. this will cause a DTC.

if you worked on eshaust pipe after the O2sensor probes, check their connections
Old January 2nd, 2014, 7:55 PM
CF Beginner

Default he's probably right