Chimes and speakers not working properly - Chevrolet Forum - Chevy Enthusiasts Forums

Chimes and speakers not working properly


  Reply  
baldana's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27

November 24th, 2011, 8:05 PM   #1  
Chimes and speakers not working properly

Vehicle: 2008 Chevy Silverado LT

All my chimes, warning sounds and my driver side speakers come in and out. If my chime is working when I put the key in ignition then my radio sound will work. If no chime then the radio will work but at a vary high pitch tweeter sound.

Is there a module I can change or is it the ECM...?

EDIT: By the way, the interior lights does not turn on when I open the door, however if I open the door while the motor is running, i see on the driver info panels "LEFT DOOR OPEN" so somehow the door switch is working. Where is the door switch located...?
=> Interior light issue SOLVED, see thread here: Interior Light Silverado


Last edited by baldana; February 3rd, 2012 at 6:00 AM.
 
lv2play's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5

January 26th, 2012, 8:22 AM   #2  
radio not working

Did you get this fixed? I have the same problem...
No chime and front speakers do not work??

thanks

 
Chevrolet Customer Service's Avatar
Official GM Rep

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,088
Global Headquarters in Detroit, MI

January 26th, 2012, 12:14 PM   #3  
<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:PunctuationKerning/> <w:ValidateAgainstSchemas/> <w:SaveIfXMLInvalid>false</w:SaveIfXMLInvalid> <w:IgnoreMixedContent>false</w:IgnoreMixedContent> <w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText>false</w:AlwaysShowPlaceholderText> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> <wontGrowAutofit/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:LatentStyles DefLockedState="false" LatentStyleCount="156"> </w:LatentStyles> </xml><![endif]--><!--[if gte mso 10]> <style> /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language:#0400; mso-fareast-language:#0400; mso-bidi-language:#0400;} </style> <![endif]--> lv2play and baldana,

There may be a wiring issue, for example a short or crossed wire. This is not a diagnosis, just a suggestion. I encourage you to take the vehicle in for an inspection. A certified technician should be able to offer a diagnosis after a physical inspection.

Please keep me posted.

If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact me.

Louis
GM Customer Service

 
lv2play's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5

January 27th, 2012, 6:43 AM   #4  
speakers not working.

Thank you for the reply from chevrolet and everyone knows to take the car in for inspection of problems, but everyone does not have $$$$$ per hour for the diagnosis then the fix could cost $$$$.....My vehicle has less that 50K miles on it and it has a wiring problem??? It appears from searching this problem that there are hundreds of others with the same problem and from reading most all are fixed by replacing the amp....which is also expensive.....It seems to me Chevrolet would accept they have a problem with these radios and switch to a new brand or fix them.....having to spend additional money on this type of issue on at $40K vehicle with low mileage does not make consumers happy. I have been driving for over 45 years and have never experienced any problems with radios on the dozens of vehicles I have had which include multiple corvettes and other chev products.

Any of you that have this problem on a 2008, please write and tell me how to get the radio out of the dash and replace the amp.....

thanks

 
baldana's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27

January 27th, 2012, 7:58 AM   #5  
I was able to find out that the "GMOS-LAN Interface" module, controls all these chimes, seat belt, turn-signal sound, Onstar etc... to allow them go through the sound system.

When you replace your radio for an aftermarket, you have to buy a aftermarket module as well if you want to have the chimes go through your speakers.

I was looking on eBay to buy a new or rebuild or used module just to swap and test.

 
recondrill's Avatar
CF Junior Member

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 38
Fort Hood

January 28th, 2012, 6:57 AM   #6  
I got my module from Cruthfield, around $50. simple to install

 
baldana's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27

January 28th, 2012, 9:30 PM   #7  
Does it fit to the stock radio or only for aftermarket radio...?

Posted By: recondrill I got my module from Cruthfield, around $50. simple to install

 
baldana's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27

February 1st, 2012, 8:52 PM   #8  
I had the impression that there was a module behind the stock radio that controls the chimes and sounds through the radio but I guess that's not the case by looking at the image below. There is only an XM Module unit and the "Onstar" Module unit.

Please advise if someone of you have taken a stock radio from the truck and if there is any 3rd module somewhere.

I also thought that it's part # 25791864 (OEM)/ (ACDelco #25911919); part # 006 on the illustration.


 
EinST's Avatar
CF Veteran

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,706

February 1st, 2012, 10:25 PM   #9  
You're thinking in too simplistic terms. Lately the door ajar switches are integrated into the door latch assemblies. The BCM gets direct input from the rear door ajar switches if any but for the front, the driver and passenger door lock/window switches get the signal from the respective door ajar switches. All these modules communicate over GMLAN including the radio. It sounds like at a minimum you're going to need the radio reprogrammed or replaced. As for the courtesy lights, there's probably a wiring problem. It's unlikely you'll be able to figure it all out without the scan tool and wiring diagrams.

 
baldana's Avatar
CF Beginner

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 27

February 2nd, 2012, 6:03 AM   #10  
First, the interior light issue has been solved as there is a button named "DOME OFF" (Override dome light switch) which does not look like a switch at all . So did solved this issue and now by oening the door, i have interior light.

as for the sound, you are referring to a GMLAN. I need to locate this part in a diagram or I need the part number.



Posted By: EinST You're thinking in too simplistic terms. Lately the door ajar switches are integrated into the door latch assemblies. The BCM gets direct input from the rear door ajar switches if any but for the front, the driver and passenger door lock/window switches get the signal from the respective door ajar switches. All these modules communicate over GMLAN including the radio. It sounds like at a minimum you're going to need the radio reprogrammed or replaced. As for the courtesy lights, there's probably a wiring problem. It's unlikely you'll be able to figure it all out without the scan tool and wiring diagrams.

 
Tags
Search this Thread
Sponsors
Related Topics