Notices
1988 - 1998 (GMT400) Section for all discussion related to the 1987-1998 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

97 1500 Cheyenne Crank No Start

Search this Thread

Old February 10th, 2019, 6:25 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 1500 Cheyenne Crank No Start

I am a newbie to Chevrolet. I was a Subaru guy but acquired a chevy truck so here I am. Ive got a 97 Cheyenne 1500 4x4 that has a crank no start issue. I need help from step 1.
Old February 11th, 2019, 7:17 AM
CF Monarch

Received 337 Likes on 318 Posts

You need to determine is it because of an electrical or fuel problem. Is the check engine light on? If so get the codes read and it will lead you in the right direction. You can also spray some starter fluid into the throttle body, and if it runs for a few seconds then you have a fuel problem.
Old March 5th, 2019, 8:31 PM
CF Junior Member

Spark Check
Fuel Pressure check
if it passes both of those
crankshaft and camshaft position sensors
The first thing I would do, crawl under the truck and replace the fuel filter. It may not solve your problem but I have seen them shut down engines, 100's of times.
Then I would suspect a crankshaft position sensor.
Old March 6th, 2019, 8:20 AM
I'm here for the party

Received 71 Likes on 66 Posts

also you might want to clean your grounds while you poking around
Old March 16th, 2019, 4:59 PM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by Terminal Frost
Spark Check
Fuel Pressure check
if it passes both of those
crankshaft and camshaft position sensors
The first thing I would do, crawl under the truck and replace the fuel filter. It may not solve your problem but I have seen them shut down engines, 100's of times.
Then I would suspect a crankshaft position sensor.
How do you check crankshaft position sensor
Old March 16th, 2019, 5:16 PM
CF Monarch

Received 138 Likes on 130 Posts

You would/should have a code if that is the issue.
Old March 17th, 2019, 5:49 PM
CF Beginner