Notices
1988 - 1998 (GMT400) Section for all discussion related to the 1987-1998 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

Hello guys building a 94 Chevy Silverado step side got, questions

Search this Thread

Old August 8th, 2020, 11:17 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello guys building a 94 Chevy Silverado step side got, questions

So I got a 1994 chevy Silverado stepside, it’s a 4x4 model. The original motor was a 350 tbi, previous owner had a water leak somewhere and let it run with no water and the block warped and a cylinder head cracked. I went ahead and picked up a motor on Facebook it came out of an unknown Cadillac car and it’s also a 350 tbi, I got the motor in the truck fit perfect but I have a couple questions that I’m hoping somebody can answer for me !!
Thanks for the answers ahead of time guys sorry I am new to the Chevy game, was a ford guy before :/.
1. The water pump on the new motor has 3 holes for hoses, the original motor only had 1 that went to the radiator, can I still use this different water pump and why does it have 3 holes instead of the 1?
2. Since the motor is out of a Cadillac, can it still work in the truck with the stock ecu and wiring/sensors?(new motor has a few new sensors that the truck did not have before that I’m gonna have to leave not connected)
3. the tensioner on the newer motor is different then the original motors tensioner, how do I move the tensioner to be able to take off the belt?(the older motor I could just use a crowbar and move the tensioner enough to get the belt off)
4. I just looked more at it, would I be able to just take off the boot that holds where the 3 exit holes of the water pump are at and be able to use the like the older water pump or is it the same water pump this whole time

Old August 8th, 2020, 2:57 PM
CF Monarch

Received 138 Likes on 130 Posts

Originally Posted by ajr3268@gmail.com