Notices
1999 - 2006 (GMT800) Section for all discussion related to the 1999-2006 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

2005 Silverado Service Charging System Issues

Search this Thread

Old December 20th, 2021, 10:57 AM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2005 Silverado Service Charging System Issues

This is my first ever post here, and I wouldn't do it if I weren't completely stumped. I have been working on cars for about 30 years (not professionally, just personally) and my mind is stumped. Was wondering if someone here could help me. I will list the issues and what I've done so far in short and sweet terms.
2005 Silverado K1500 5.3L
Truck was dead one day. Charged battery. Truck started. Truck later died again. Wasn't keeping charge. Decided new battery. Truck started and ran fine. (didn't drive, was just sitting) Couple days later, dead again. Took new battery back to store. Got a new battery. Same process and result with 2nd new battery. Each time I would charge the battery up with charger, the truck would run fine at idle for 20-30 mins, but then I could watch the voltage meter in dash drop. All the way down to 8 or so before the truck would then die. Service charging system message in dash. Decided to replace the alternator. Charged battery with charger. Again, truck runs fine for the 20-30 mins, then volts drop again and it dies. Took new alternator and old one to store to be tested. Both checked out good! So something is keeping my battery from charging. This model has the built in voltage regulator in the alternator. Since it tested good, that can't be it. I have checked cables over and over for tightness. I have cleaned ground wires. I even took the ground from engine block and cleaned it. Still no luck. I am at a loss and wondering if someone could please help me! Thank you!
Old December 20th, 2021, 4:45 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 92 Likes on 83 Posts

Hi Ryan,

Even if you worked on GM vehicles professionally , you would have trouble with this one.