Notices
2007 - 2013 (GMT900) Section for all discussion related to the 2007-2013 Chevrolet and GMC trucks.

'09 Silverado AFM and Transmission problems

Search this Thread

Old October 3rd, 2018, 1:21 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '09 Silverado AFM and Transmission problems

Hello all,

This is my first time posting. My girlfriend has had this truck for a year and a half and we dont really know the history. It now has over 150k miles, And has the dreaded oil consumption problem. I have rebuilt engines in the past so that part doesnt scare me. Should I be looking into deleting the AFM? I am having an oil analysis done so I can see what kind of internal engine wear we are dealing with. I also plan on doing a compression check. We are consuming about 2 quarts every 3k miles. No smoke from the tailpipe whatsoever. Summit sells the AFM delete kit that includes a new cam and lifters. I also read somewhere that the valve cover will need to be changed? Any input on this would be greatly appreciated.

A second issue we are dealing with is the transmission. I doubt it has ever been serviced, so thats already a problem. But what it is doing is having a problem with 2-1 downshifts causing it to jerk, and it slips at times when accelerating from a stop like the torque converter isnt grabbing. I read the codes and got a P0751 for a shift solenoid failure. I am afraid to drop the transmission pan and change the solenoids and cause even more issues as I see plenty of people doing a simple transmission filter change and having more problems afterwards. So the question is what do I do in this situation? Besides the obvious SELL THE TRUCK haha. She really doesnt want to get rid of it so I am doing what I can to keep it going. Thanks for reading.
Old October 3rd, 2018, 3:38 PM
CF Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post