Notices
Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

1998 Z24 Cavalier Shifting Problems

Old March 16th, 2010, 4:56 PM
  #1  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 Z24 Cavalier Shifting Problems

Hello All!

Be nice I'm new!

I have a 1998 Z24 with automatic 4 speed transmission that was given to my son for his first car but has shifting problems. I am not so up on all of the computer cars. The problem is it seems to shift into 2nd but that's it. If I down down shift manually it will go back into 1st. Found that out by accident! It will not shift through all manually other that it shifting into 2nd as mentioned above. I ahve not checked the fluid yet because this is the transmission that doesn't have a dipstick. It is also kinda hard from to get it up off the ground and keep it level to check.

Great forum for Chevrolet Vehicles!

Can someone give me some suggestions?

Thanks,
Hobbydad
Hobbydad is offline  
Old March 16th, 2010, 7:34 PM
  #2  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I also wanted to add, I have a check engine light on and dash says ETS Off.

Thanks,
Hobbydad
Hobbydad is offline  
Old March 18th, 2010, 8:22 PM
  #3  
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic
 
MDTAHOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 2,950
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You need to get the computer scanned. Without knowing what the code is, we can not really help you.
MDTAHOE is offline  
Old March 18th, 2010, 8:30 PM
  #4  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Got the code read tonight and it came back as throttle position sensor. I just think that's weird because it has a shifting problem.

Can someone explain what the throttle position sensor has to do with the transmission?

Thanks,
Hobbydad
Hobbydad is offline  
Old March 18th, 2010, 8:38 PM
  #5  
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic
 
MDTAHOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 2,950
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The TPS is what is used to tell the computer to shift the transmission.
MDTAHOE is offline  
Old March 18th, 2010, 8:45 PM
  #6  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok! I will install a new one tomorrow and see how it works out!

Thanks,
Hobbydad
Hobbydad is offline  
Old March 19th, 2010, 7:21 PM
  #7  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ok, the guy at Advanced read the code as throttle position sensor. Installed new TPS and still the same problem.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Hobbydad
Hobbydad is offline  
Old March 19th, 2010, 8:21 PM
  #8  
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic
 
MDTAHOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 2,950
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Do you have a volt meter? Codes do not always mean that specific part is bad they only tell you what is being effected. So if the signal to the TPS is not there or the output is not received at the PCM it would give you a TPS code.
MDTAHOE is offline  
Old March 19th, 2010, 8:28 PM
  #9  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes I have a voltmeter, what do I need to see?

Thanks!
Hobbydad is offline  
Old April 5th, 2010, 4:32 AM
  #10  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I would consider taking the car by a transmission shop, most will give a free "check-up". It could just be low on fluid, I do not care much for the "sealed" transmissions like yours. To get the check engine light to go off the computer will need to be reset after installing the new TPS, Advance may be able to do that but it may require a "real" scanner. The ones that the auto parts stores use is a "beater" box that has very limited options.
Roanoker494 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 1998 Z24 Cavalier Shifting Problems


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: