Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

98 2.2L cavalier THEFT SYSTEM on

Search this Thread

Old June 17th, 2020, 3:48 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 2.2L cavalier THEFT SYSTEM on

Hi this is my first time here but I had to finally go somewhere and ask because I couldn't find help. I just got a 1998 Chevy Cavalier 3 speed 2.2L and I have no history of this car but that it starts then stops

Here is what I did, I took the dash apart while the battery was unplugged and cleaned everything and uninstalled the cluster and then reinstalled the cluster, I left everything but the trim piece for the light dimmer. I have the radio out and it is an aftermarket radio and did not come with the stock stereo, the dash is not put together completely because I'm waiting on a stereo to come in.

Here is what it's doing: I go to start it and before I actually turn it over the THEFT SYSTEM light turns on solid with no flashing and then I start it where I do hear the fuel pump working and the engine turning over to where I can rev it while the THEFT system light is on. After starting it about 1 to 2 seconds it automatically shuts off and then the THEFT SYSTEM light flashes for a few seconds then instantly returns to solid.

What I did to try to troubleshoot it?: I tried the 10 to 15 minute trick by turning it over then waiting that amount of time and even disconnecting the battery and doing that as many times as I could. And I even tried looking in the manual to see but I haven't contacted the GM parts department of my "local" Chevy dealer (I'm 300 miles from a near one) but I decided I'd try here first if anyone has any input to help me out.

​​​​​​Few more questions if so some of the things I've read are right for responses as well: if it's the ignition switch can I reuse the lock cylinder or will I have to get it rekeyd or just have a separate key for the ignition?