Cavalier Starting in the 1980s. the Cavalier made a name for itself by offering an affordable 2 and 4 door compact.
Platform: J-body

Ignition won't turn at all. Please help me. >.<

Search this Thread

Old July 15th, 2010, 12:56 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Ignition won't turn at all. Please help me. >.<

Hello,
I need help regarding my car's ignition please. First off I feel that I need to say I have no experience, whatsoever, with cars which is why my dad suggested that i find an online forum to learn some things about my car from you experts out there. We are gong to take my car to get it fixed so I need to know, in advance, what I will be up against so any help will be most appreciated and thank you very much.

OK, yesterday I was on my way home and got in my 1997, 2-door Chevy Cavalier and turned the ignition on, after wards pressing the alarm button, located on the keypad, to activate the car to start, like I always have done, but the car didn't start so I slightly pulled the key out of the ignition and the car started. Thinking that to be odd, I pulled the key completely out of the ignition to try again so I repeated the same thing again and it happened again so I started getting scared because my car has never done that before in the 8 years I've had it.

This car has been the best and I rarely ever had any problems with it for the 8 years I've had it. I would say I'd only had 2 issues with it (got a new battery for in a year ago and the a/c had acted up) in all, so I was kind of surprised about what it was doing. I guess I just wasn't expecting any problems since it has been so good to me.