Engine Building & Overhauling All you ever wanted to know about building and rebuilding engines in here! Remember to post your model-specific questions in the correct section.

'95 Siverado 350 TBI to Carb or not ?

Search this Thread

Old August 11th, 2015, 1:02 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '95 Siverado 350 TBI to Carb or not ?

Hello everyone , Newbie here to this forum and looking for some direction.

I currently have a '95 Silverado Stepside as my secondary/beater truck (actually in excellent shape).

It has the factory 350 5.7 TBI engine with about 275K miles on it. It's been dripping oil from the rear main and just recently the Transmission (4L60E) took a turn for the worse..in a nut shell.. I need to replace/rebuild the engine and trans. Also the rear is factory with a 3.42 gear

I believe the factory HP for this engine was about 200 and I would like to get a little more pop if possible. It's not for any street racing..just a grocery getter that'll move when I need it to.

Was think about getting the 350 crate engine w/290hp. Would the TBI and a new 4L60E trans work behind that engine or would it be to much ?

Or should I convert it all over to a carburetor set up and a 700r4 trans and conversion kit ? (emission wise I don't think the Federal laws would like it)

Or last.. just get an entire TBI and trans from a donor, which I've found for $1500..just afraid of getting someone else future problem.

Thanks in advance for advise
Attached Thumbnails '95 Siverado 350 TBI to Carb or not ?-ole-red-1.jpeg  
Old August 11th, 2015, 8:34 AM
CF Beginner

If I go with the crate 290hp... any suggestions as to a new intake and/or TBI, maybe an upgraded cam ect ? I'm just not very familiar with the whole TBI thing.

Thanks
Old August 12th, 2015, 6:29 PM
CF Active Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post