Engine Building & Overhauling All you ever wanted to know about building and rebuilding engines in here! Remember to post your model-specific questions in the correct section.

Gen 4 rebuild gone wrong, maybe?

Search this Thread

Old March 14th, 2024, 12:48 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gen 4 rebuild gone wrong, maybe?

2008 5.3 LC9 Gen4 engine build gone wrong?? Need help
Let me start by saying I'm a retired bumpertobumper tech from gm dealership.
Never completely tore an engine down and rebuilt it. Just partial repairs.
Always wanted too, but never really had the time, place or vehicle to do it.
So now i have my 2008 Avalanche daily driver that had developed dod problems and so i decided to pull the engine and tear it down and rebuild new stock parts and delete AFMDoD.
I know the engine has 200k plus miles. Unknown correct miles.
I purchased the
Chris Werner Chris Werner

How to Rebuild GM LS-Series Engines (S-A Design)

I cleaned the block and heads and measured bores determined i could just refresh with new stock parts.
New Stock GM parts
Pistons and Rods, Camshaft and Crankshaft.
Aftermarket parts
Melling valves and pushrods
Michigan motorsports roller rockers, springs, retainers and keepers.
Should be off to a great start! Nope! I made the mistake of watching youtube videos on resurfacing blocks and heads. This is when my head swelled up and i lost reality and bypassed the machine shop path.
Never in all my 20 years ever did anything like bypass machine shop. Ugg.
I put together a 3/4 15x30 board and routered out 1/8 in hole to fit a 12x24 porcelain tile from lowes. I put the straight edge on it to verify flatness. I have a machinest straightedge.
Glued the tile in the slot and glued 240 grit sandpaper to the tile no overlapping of sandpaper.
A week later me and a friend put each head on the sandpaper tile and pulled back and forth from each side making sure we didn't push down and only pull.