Express & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

1995 G20 conversion questions

Search this Thread

Old December 8th, 2016, 6:01 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1995 G20 conversion questions

Hey all, I just bought a 95 GMC vandura 2500 with the explorer conversion package. Has the 350, runs great and has been very reliable so far. Has 170k on the odo, It needs a bit of minor work, but nothing I can't handle. I'm not new to wrenching but I'm new to older vans. So far I have rebuilt the front calipers (brakes were real sluggish) and done the basic fluid changes that you would do to any used car. I plan on using the van as a long term RV, and want to add a big deep cycle battery on an isolator to power the rear lights and other appliances I'll be adding.

Anyway, I have a few basic questions. Any link out there for factory service manuals? Also, I am looking for a wiring diagram for the conversion add ons. I tried emailing Explorer (luckily they are still around) but havent had much luck with finding anything yet (not even a user manual). I am hoping someone on here knows about these and can send me in the right direction for the interior modifications I want to do. Another note, occasionally the Service light will come on (only on longer drives). It's giving me code 32, MAP sensor signal open. I'm guessing the rear-engine-cover-thing (don't know the technical term) has to come off to get to the MAP? I assume it's just on the intake somewhere? The van runs great but want to get that sorted as I am not sure if it can do any damage long term.

I appreciate any info or advice on these vans as I am hoping to keep it running as long as possible. Thanks guys!!
Old December 8th, 2016, 8:08 PM
CF Junior Member

Default manuals