Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

1937 Chevy 216 carburetor problem

Search this Thread

Old May 2nd, 2021, 7:38 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1937 Chevy 216 carburetor problem

Hi! New member here.

I have been working on an all original '37 Chevy pickup for 3 years. I did a body off frame resto, and took it down to the last nut and bolt. The truck is back together with the original 216 engine, 3 speed manual transmission and rear end. The engine starts at the first crank, and runs ok at top speed of 40 mph. However, when going through the gears at part load, the engine runs rough. The engine also wants to die when you come up to a full stop at a red light. But it will restart.The single barrel Carter W1 carburetor was restored by The Old Carb Doctor. When we started the engine, we tried to adjust the fuel/air mixture. Turning the fuel/air adjustment screw all the way in or out made no difference whatsoever in the engine speed or smoothness of running. I removed the carb and sent it back to The Old Carb Doctor a second time. He has disassembled it and cannot find anything wrong with it. After I removed this carburetor, I noticed the heat riser spring was broken and hanging by a thread. I bought a new spring and now the heat riser valve opens and closes as it should.

We checked for vacuum leaks by spraying brake fluid on the carb gaskets, hoses to the carb, etc., and found none.

I wanted to ask the forum if the heat riser being closed constantly and the intake manifold heated constantly could cause the rough running at part load. Or, is there something else the Carb Doctor should check? We replaced the fuel pump with a new one during the resto.

The truck was saturating the spark plugs with fuel, and the plugs were replaced. But doesn't that mean something is out of whack with the carb?