Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

283 SBC rebuild help.

Old April 13th, 2006, 10:46 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 283 SBC rebuild help.

Hello everyone. Brand spankin newbie here needing some advice on my project.

My friend has a 1963 Impala with a 283 SB. We are in the process of completely rebuilding it. We are doing the motor ourselfves and having a University shop do the body. Anyway, I have gotten some parts for the engine but decided to get advice from experts so here it goes....

Here is what I ordered, please tell me good/bad/ugly idea.

Roller rockers extruded aluminum
Solid flat lifters
Dome pistons +6 cc
305 58cc heads
Rods (rated at 800hp)
Stock forged crank sent to get ballanced/turned
Camshaft 3000-6500 rpm range , 0.510/0.510 VL , Duration @50 244/244 , 108deg center lobe.
High stall TC
550 Holley
Edlebrock performer intake
Headers
4.11 gears

Now I read that the 283 is good for high revving with the small stroke but also read that a lift over 0.460 was useless with the restricting heads. I got the 305 heads for the small chamber and will have 10.1 compression. I have not rebuilt a chevy since the 80s and have never attempted to use race parts on one. I am not a beginner mechanic having turboed and rebuilt several imports recently. I am pressed for time since the body shop requires a running vehicle to work on it and they will close soon.

Here is what I am confused on...

What distributer should I get and what springs for timing should I use?
Will the crank handle 8k rpm?
With the NON forged pistons, I am going to use 75-150 shot NOS...too much? not enough?

Thanks guys in advance.
Old July 14th, 2011, 8:54 PM
CF Beginner

Default 283talk