Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.

350 build up

Search this Thread

Old October 8th, 2014, 11:09 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 350 build up

I hope im in the right forum . If not please send me in the right direction . Im hoping to build a 350 to 400 hp engine for my truck . I have a freshly rebuilt 2 bolt ( block # 3970010 ) I picked up msd ignition with blaster 2 coil , 461 heads ported and polished with ss valves . I really need help on putting the right parts along with the engine to give me a 350/400 hp engine . Itll be bolted to a turbo 400 with a stage 3 shift kit going back to a ford 9 inch rear end with 456 gears . Clearly I am not an expert at this so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated . The i take is an edelbrock performer pn 7116 and i have a choise of a holly 650 double pumper or edelbrock carb pn 1406 . Thanks everyone ..Lee .
Old October 11th, 2014, 11:28 AM
CF Junior Member

Ok well you need a small chamber high flow head. You need about 250CFM I 190CFM E 9.5:1 compression. a cam that looks something like this 10/0.520 lift split, a 230/236 duration split and a 110-degree lobe separation angle. Then run a single plane intake. That should get you around the 400hp target.

It is all going to to come down to the cylinder heads which I don't thin 461s are going to cut it without going stupid radical on other things. 461s will get you about 350 streetable hp.
Old October 12th, 2014, 11:14 PM
CF Beginner

Hey thanks for the reply Exgie. Thats the kind of info I need . The cam you mentioned. ...what manufacturer do you recommend. The guy I bought the heads recommended a 280h . Also which intake would be best . You mentioned a single plane . Again who do you recommend. Thanks for all your help .
Old October 13th, 2014, 12:12 AM
CF Junior Member