Other All other Chevrolet model related talk within.

1994 G30 Van 5.7L 4L80E Transmission not shifting

Search this Thread

Old February 16th, 2019, 12:06 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1994 G30 Van 5.7L 4L80E Transmission not shifting

First here is my Answer:
**************Check Ground Strap**************Check Ground Strap**************Check Ground Strap**************Check Ground Strap**************Check Ground Strap**************Check Ground Strap**************Check Ground Strap**************Check Ground Strap*****************

Second here is My Story:

So I just wanted to post this to the board for anyone that may have issues with this same transmission. I AM NOT A MECHANIC but just wanted to share this if it helps anyone having the same issues that I had had.

Bought this van last summer in Colorado. Seemed to have a couple issues at the beginning.

1- Had a hard shift at times going into "Drive" when I passed "Reverse" it would jolt quiet heavily.
2- When I would turn the A/C to high and Max A/C the transmission would start down shifting and then try to shift up and rev high and low all over the map.

I took it to a local Transmission Shop in Colorado they were very confused as to why on their computer reader it showed the RPM's going up and down left and right when we turned on the A/C.

They started off by replacing the "transmission speed sensor". = NO FIX, but seemed to be a little smoother until I turned on the A/C. Cost $80
So they pulled the housing where the solenoids were and replaced the "shifting solenoids". They said that the transmission oil looked very clean no metal shards or anything. Cost $280