S-10 & Blazer 1982-2005
The S-10 and Blazer was arguably the most versatile and accessorizable mid-size truck and SUV on the market.
Platform: S/T-series & GMT 330

fuel pump relay

Search this Thread

Old May 17th, 2014, 8:41 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fuel pump relay

HI,Does anyone know the location of the fuel pump relay in 1994 S10 z-engine,dealer told me by the windshield washer bottle but did not see
anything that looked like it also no relay bOk what you have in simplicity is two switches in parallel with one power source. Now how the oil pressure switch becomes a single switch that can conduct B+ to the fuel pump and how it can under one and only one condition shut the fuel pump.

As an electronic technician I have ascertained from the posts that MT and Califokie are both correct although MT is only incorrect in thinking that the oil pressure switch can not shut fuel pump, he is correct in all his other statements.
The way the system is set up is very intelligent and I take my hat off to GM's design tech's.
The oil pressure switch is a variable resistor driven by pressure. When enough pressure exists the switch closes and in that state can pass B+ to the fuel pump.
This is only pertinent if the main switch in the parallel circuit that drives B+ to the fuel pump fails (fuel pump relay) while under driving conditions (high enough rpm's to keep ops as a closed circuit).
One switch in parallel with another switch both closed has no effect on the circuit.
But if the main source of B+ to the fuel pump (fuel pump relay) should open under that condition the ops would maintain B+ allowing veh to remain running.
Now comes the part about how the ops can and will shut fuel pump.