Express, Savana & G-Series Vans Offered in both a full size van, or a large box truck, the Express is the modern GM workhorse.

Chevrolet Express
Platform: GMT Van

Parasitic draw TBC fuse 2003 Chevy Express 3500 van

Search this Thread

Old June 18th, 2020, 12:44 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Parasitic draw TBC fuse 2003 Chevy Express 3500 van

Hello all. 2003 Chevy Express 3500 van
I have a parasitic draw of about 1.9 amps on the TBC fuse. Does anyone know if these problems are the TBC control circuit or the TBC sensor mounted on the throttle body? I don't know if this is an issue that many people have had. Any help from someone who has had these issues would help greatly. I am an electrician and can use a multimeter. It is my cousin's van and I am helping him through this issue. He currently has a kinfe switch style dixconnect on the battery to keep it from being drained. I installed it a few weeks ago but I only have access to the van when he is available. I searched for parasitic draw TBC and found nothing. Thank you.
Old June 18th, 2020, 2:32 PM
CF Junior Member

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

Hi Dwayne

The TBC Fuses stand for the Body Control Module(BCM) unit. Not the the Throttle Body Control.

My guess is you going to have more success if you look at the fuse box located under the driver seat. Just next to the BCM
Pull one fuse at a time and check if the amp drop. Be careful to put back the fuse at the correct spot.

Most likely your drain is due to an accessory somewhere. Make sure everything is turned off (Sun Visor lights, radio, any third party accessories connected and not nescesssarly visible. etc.....)
Any gadget addition lately ?

Good luck

Old June 18th, 2020, 4:01 PM
CF Beginner

Default We have it under control.