Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Right Axleshaft tube driveway replacement.

Search this Thread

Old May 22nd, 2024, 11:30 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Right Axleshaft tube driveway replacement.

Hey Y'all, I am reaching out because I broke the right axleshaft tube and I need to replace it. I hear it's fairly simple yet I've never done a job like this before. I have most of the tools needed for the Job but I'm sure not everything. I do have the Haynes manual but it doesn't tell me everything with this job. If you are experienced with this job I'd greatly appreciate your input. I want to know everything I should have and expect when doing this type of work. I appreciate you and your time. Thanks In advance!!

Last edited by TAHOE054X4; May 22nd, 2024 at 11:35 AM. Reason: Wanted to add a photo. Thanks
Old May 22nd, 2024, 12:38 PM
CF Veteran

Received 269 Likes on 234 Posts

Do you know what caused it to break? If not, you should verify it wasn’t due to the differential gears or bearings binding or locking up unintentionally.

The tube itself isn’t that difficult to remove. You’ll want to loosen the mounts on the left side to allow for a little tilting as you work to remove/install them.

If you disconnect the steering linkage from the pitman and idler arms, you can gain some working room by resting the linkage against the lower control arms as far forward as possible.

Old May 22nd, 2024, 6:13 PM
CF Beginner

I was jacking up the tahoe with the cross member when somehow the jack slipped off of the member maki g the shaft land in the jack and breaking the housing. By the look of the diagram it should be easy to rebuild the unit with the new housing or... do you think this can be welded?

Last edited by mountainmanjoe; May 22nd, 2024 at 8:34 PM.