Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Old August 10th, 2015, 6:37 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:Browse all: Transmission Guides
Print Wikipost

Loud clunk in driveline, 2007 Silverado

Old February 5th, 2011, 5:14 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loud clunk in driveline, 2007 Silverado

I am new to the foum, and have a 2007 Silverado (new body style) Crew Cab "Texas Edition" 2WD LT2 5.3 liter with 40000 miles. I am having a problem with a loud clunking noise coming from the driveline. In a nutshell, when I come to a complete stop, I hear / feel a loud clunk coming from the rear end, as if the transmission is engaging abruptly. It will occur while stopped or when starting from a dead stop, and it will do this about 10% of the time. I am afraid that the dealer might not be able to duplicate the condition if I take it to them. Has anyone here heard of this problem?
Old February 5th, 2011, 7:54 PM
CF Beginner

Default Clunk

Not sure about what exactly is causing it but I have a 2007 Silverado nbs crew 4x4 Vortec and I hear a thump when stopping or shortly after a stop. Not all the time but sometimes. I have heard that it may be torque converter and normal. Sorry no answer but I thought it might help to let you know that, if we are hearing the same thing, there are others out there.
Old February 5th, 2011, 11:05 PM
CF Beginner

Sounds like the dreaded "Clunk" our trucks are notorious for this condition. You need to remove the driveshaft and clean and grease the splines on the yoke that slips into the transmission. It should cure your problem. The splines get dry and it will cause a "clunk" when you come to a stop and sometimes you feel it on take off.
Old February 6th, 2011, 9:59 AM