Notices
Silverado, Sierra & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado & Sierra have been two of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

looking for a tonnea cover(leather kind)

Search this Thread

Old October 8th, 2012, 12:10 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking for a tonnea cover(leather kind)

hey guys im new to this site and to trucks. i came over from the mustang world and now im juming into the truck world with both feet. anyways i need to buy a tonneau cover before it starts snowing here in CT. im a volunteer firefighter and keep my gear in the bed of my truck, so i need the cover to be weather proof. sorry if this is posted in the wrong section mods feel free to move if needed. thanks everyone!
Old October 8th, 2012, 12:40 PM
CF Senior Member

Welcome to the site man, I would say the best place to buy a bed cover would prob be ebay because you will more than likely get a better price. Only thing i would say would be to get a fiberglass one, the leather ones are durable, but with the weight of snow and all that stuff I don't think it will last many seasons. Besides that I think ebay will be your best bet on a tonnea cover.
Old October 8th, 2012, 5:55 PM
Former Sponsor

volpe804,

The most water resistant covers will be a fiberglass or poly lid or the vinyls like you're considering. As fishin' mentioned, you probably won't be pleased with the performance of vinyl in a snowy area.

The more expensive retractables are quite good when it comes to being waterproof, but I've had folks tell me that they leak too and others tell me they don't. Some have told me that they can freeze up in winter when liquid water freezes in the rails, others say that this doesn't happen to them. I recommend lots of research before pulling the trigger.

If there's any chance that you'll consider our cover, the following may help you.