Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

2002 Suburban 8.1, Battery Light On, Fuel & Temp Gauges Inop

Search this Thread

Old May 23rd, 2022, 12:39 PM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2002 Suburban 8.1, Battery Light On, Fuel & Temp Gauges Inop

Hey guys! Ok, I got an interesting one for you. I used to be a Mercedes tech and did a ton of evaporators. My Suburban needed a new evaporator, so I thought, no big deal I got this, pulled the dash, pulled the air box and replaced it. Reinstalled everything and fired up the truck. Dome lights went out, battery warning light came on and the fuel gauge was dead. D'oh! Check the dome light fuse its blown, putting in a new one immediately popped the fuse. Crap, know I smashed a wire even tho that's a totally rookie mistake and I know better. Pull the driver's knee panel and sure enough, the heavy brown wire coming from the ignition switch that goes over to the interior fuse panel is smashed between the crash bar and the steering mount and is grounding. Pull that out, repair the wire, check all over for any other stupid maneuvers I might have done, looks good, put it back together. Dome light fuse is fine now, won't pop. Still have the battery light on and fuel gauge inop. Ok fine, figure maybe the battery is low, voltmeter shows the alternator is charging fine so I'll go drive it for 20 minutes and charge everything up. Truck runs fine, battery light never goes out. Temp gauges (both the engine and transmission) don't seem to be working, as they didn't go up at all during the 20 minute drive. So I've torn back into this and cannot for the life of me figure it out. Here's everything I know:
  1. Red battery warning is on in the information center, comes on at run position, stays on during start, goes out when the truck is turned off