Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

2004 Tahoe intermittent starting problem

Search this Thread

Old February 4th, 2011, 1:23 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 Tahoe intermittent starting problem

Hello all, this is my first time posting on this forum so I apologize if I mistakenly ask a duplicate question.

I have a 2004 Tahoe with 110k miles on it. It is the Z71 with the 5.3 V8, and I have had an issue twice where it will not start. I got in it Tuesday started it from a cold start, no problem. Ran a few errands (starting and stopping it) no problems. Finally I made a stop ran in for about 5 minutes and came back to the truck, put the key in the ignition, turned it to the start position and nothing happened. In the run position everything was working as expected, all gauges were correct, radio was on, lights etc worked as normal. I removed the key 3-4 time and tried it again and on about the 5th time it magically started. Yesterday it was fine, no problems at all. Today same problem happened again, jumped in it (engine hot) put the key in and it wont turn over. I removed the key a few times ( a few more than last time, around 10 this time) and finally voila, it fired right up. I had it in the dealer yesterday and had them check it out, all they found was a lose battery connection. Other than that they were unable to recreate the problem. I JUST bought this truck and am trying to work the kinks out of it, thats the problem with used cars.

Any help would greatly be appreciated.
Old February 4th, 2011, 3:29 PM
CF Beginner