Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

2005 Suburban 1500 Z71 - Rats in the wiring!

Search this Thread

Old January 11th, 2020, 10:03 PM
CF Beginner

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2005 Suburban 1500 Z71 - Rats in the wiring!

Greetings all! I'm a Newbie here so please let me know if I step on any rules or toes with my post.

Picked up this truck because rats got into the engine bay and ate the fuel feed line and MOST of the engine harness. So I need the entire engine harness and the fuel feed line.

I searched the vendor directory for parts dealers but no one jumped off the page beyond CarID and I've already looked there. I seem to be having trouble getting to the OEM part numbers. Any advice on Part Sites with good detailed exploded part diagrams and parts list?

While this looks to be a miserable repair, it looks salvageable. We dug around under the truck and I think if I pull the front drive shaft and the front of the exhaust system, that will open up enough space where we can work on the fuel lines and the back end of the harness. I have access to a 4-post lift so it wont be as tedious in that respect.

I'd certainly appreciate any guidance or tips on getting the old harness and fuel lines out.
TIA
Greg

Old January 11th, 2020, 10:41 PM
CF Beginner

This is just a sample of the damage to the harness. The main harness right behind the fuel line and running down the back of the motor to the tranny, is eaten through at least 75% of the way through for about 6 inches!

I'm thinking about trying a GM Fuel Feed Line repair kit before I replace the entire fuel line going back to under the cabin. The main harness right behind the fuel line is eaten through at least 75% of the way through for about 6 inches!
Old January 11th, 2020, 11:04 PM
I'm here for the party