Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Cross Streets in Nav

Search this Thread

Old July 24th, 2009, 7:42 AM
CF Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Cross Streets in Nav

So my sat nav doesn't have an address I need to go to today. OK, well yahoo does; so I will put in the closes cross street to the destination.

I enter the city.

I enter the street 1

now I am forced to enter a street #, even though 'cross street' is right below!

was this system seriously designed to be difficult to use?! my $100 4" GPS is 10x easier to use!

I do IT for a living... I know electronic gizmos... this sat nav needs to go back to school...

I cleaned out the glove box; so the sat nav manual is at home... the factory manual is a PDF on yahoo's otherwise useless site; but it doesn't have the sat nav one...

anyone know how I enter a cross street as a destination?

Also, when I want to go to a job (I do on-site IT work) then go home; I enter that I want to go home first, then add a way point... but when I do it that way it just gets me 'close' to the way point... not even telling me which side of the street it is on... (like it does with a destination) why are they different? I entered an ADDRESS as a waypoint, which must mean... hey I want to go THERE... not CLOSE to there.. i want to go EXACTLY there... stupid thing.

Does anyone know the e-mail of a programmer on the sat nav team at GM? I would LOVE to get some source code! i'd learn any language to rewrite this thing better...

there are whole web sites dedicated to hacking the 'mygig' and I assume soon the ford sync...

I wish I had considered the F-150 more before the Tahoe... the Ford Sync alone might have sold me...
Old July 24th, 2009, 6:10 PM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

I thought you wanted a Toyota?