Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900
Old July 24th, 2015, 4:33 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Engine and Powertrian
Print Wikipost

I cleaned my TB now high revs @ idle

Old January 28th, 2011, 9:16 PM
  #11  
Administrator
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 9,642
Default

The ECM controls the idle speed whether in "Park" or in gear. Not like the old carb days.
73shark is offline  
Old January 29th, 2011, 7:19 AM
  #12  
Administrator
 
in2pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,522
Default

I think revisiting the cleaning of the IAC or Idle Air Control as RacerX suggested in post #7... I think the IAC is either gunked up or is not working correctly...
in2pro is offline  
Old January 30th, 2011, 9:47 AM
  #13  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

On the throttle body, there is no scew visible. Since it is drive by wire, there is a electronic control of the butterfly that has metal clips keeping closed. That is where the wiring harness attaches. It looks sealed, and I did not open it. My wife drove the suburban all overtown yesterday and getting a little better. When it first starts, idles down, but when driving, let go of gas shift in to neutral, revs to 2500 rpm. When you come to a stop, then shift to nuetral, goes to about 1000 then drops to 600. When I first start it and idles down, now idles back down if I gas it for a moment and let go. Before, I would gas at low idle then it would go up then continue up. So again, seems to be getting a little better. Wondering if cleaning fluid got into the electical unit on side is the source.
hfd11 is offline  
Old January 30th, 2011, 9:04 PM
  #14  
CF Veteran
 
RacerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York City USA
Posts: 1,054
Default

Ok, well I m going to stick with stuck Idle Air Control Solenoid. How did you clean the throttle plate with no linkage to open the butterfly?

In the Ford MPFI systems the PCM set the Idle also, but they still put an adjustment screw for the throttle plate on the other side of the TPS sensor. It wasnt really for idle neither, more like to calibrate the butterfly during reassembly, especially on cars with cruise control.

Volvo had that drive by wire Throttle Assemblies in the early 2000s where the PCM would set the whole thing, problem was that the software could fail and then the car wouldnt start because the Throttle assembly could NOT interface with the PCM.

Last edited by RacerX; January 31st, 2011 at 3:53 PM.
RacerX is offline  
Old January 31st, 2011, 7:36 AM
  #15  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

I removed the throttle body, and manually moved the butterfly, even though it it is controlled by the ecm, it is spring loaded to shut, When I removed it the second time to check it, it was in the closed position when off, it does not appear to hang up in any way. If I remove the air intake hose, with the key on the run position and engine off, would the butterfly activate acorrding to throttle position?
hfd11 is offline  
Old January 31st, 2011, 7:45 AM
  #16  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Looking at the chevy parts, I dont see a seperate air actuator valve for the 07 suburban. I believe it is part of the actual throttle body.
hfd11 is offline  
Old January 31st, 2011, 8:40 AM
  #17  
RJK
CF Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 51
Default

Just an update from my origional post, after driving i would say about 150 miles my idle has gone back to normal.

Thanks for all the input.
RJK is offline  
Old January 31st, 2011, 11:16 AM
  #18  
Administrator
 
in2pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,522
Thumbs up

Thanks for the follow up
in2pro is offline  
Old January 31st, 2011, 11:57 AM
  #19  
Administrator
 
73shark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: KC, MO area
Posts: 9,642
Default

Good to know that something in this computer controlled truck works.
73shark is offline  
Old February 6th, 2011, 10:19 AM
  #20  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Update also, mine has also returned to normal operation. It took a little longer and more miles than I would have though. Thanks.
hfd11 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: I cleaned my TB now high revs @ idle


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: