Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Installing New Radio in 2001 Suburban Problem

Search this Thread

Old February 22nd, 2013, 11:04 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing New Radio in 2001 Suburban Problem

Hello Guys. I'm new to the whole installing systems and stuff so I have a couple questions.

I tried installing a new Boss 822UA In-Dash Double-Din in my truck. I got all the wiring right I think. I bought the 94-06 stereo harness adapter and wired it correctly to the new boss radio. Except on the harness adapter there is a orange and a dark navy blue one not connected because the new radio harness did not have those color wires. And the new radio wire harness has a bright blue wire not connected. I still connected the radio and it all turned on and cd loads but no sound is played through the speaker? I've read some forums talking about a pink wire but not sure what to do with it. They say its the factory amp but I'm not sure. My chevy has onstar and no Bose. I do not care about onstar and never plan on getting it connected. I also plan on installing a new amp and subwoofers. But first I want to know how to get my new radio working with the factory speakers. Thanks to anyone that helps! Sorry if I sound like a total newbie.
Old February 23rd, 2013, 9:31 AM
CF Beginner

Anyone know?
Old March 6th, 2013, 8:27 PM
CF Junior Member

You're going to have to connect your remote wire from the radio to your factory amp. I'm not sure what the color is. I would try to look at you tube video's. I found some video's on installing double din radios. Hope this helps.
Old March 9th, 2013, 6:34 AM
CF Beginner

Hi