Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Need Help: How to make a convertible Suburban

Search this Thread

Old April 15th, 2019, 5:14 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need Help: How to make a convertible Suburban

Hi everyone,
A newbie here. I have been a Suburban owner for the past 25 years and just bought my thirds suburban, a 97 4x4 LT with 186k miles. I plan to cut the entire roof off and put in a professional roll cage and have a body shop cap and finish the sharp edges.

Yes, I know, it is a bit of crazy idea but it is supposed to be a father/son project, where the car will be mainly driven up in N. Kalifornia in summers etc.. Maybe some easy off roading for camping, NO rock crawling etc.

So my questions are:
  1. Has anybody done that?
  2. Do I need to worry about body warp etc.
  3. I am keeping full doors and window frames. Will the doors still close?
  4. Do I need to strengthen the front windshield?
  5. What else do I need to worry about?

Any insight or advise is greatly appreciated. Will post pics during the process.
Old April 16th, 2019, 9:09 AM
CF Junior Member

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

The answers will depend on where you are cutting the roof.

If you keep about a 2" border around the perimeter of the roof, the A,B,C and D pillars will still be tied together and there should be minimal reinforcing needed.

If you remove the part of the roof for example between the A-pillar and B-pillar above the front doors, then the top of the windshield will be "loose" and need reinforcement so it doesn't flex and break the windshield.

Personally, I would keep a 2" border at the roof and weld a tube around the whole perimeter to keep everything aligned.