Notices
Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Tahoe pulls to right when accelerating

Old December 6th, 2010, 3:58 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tahoe pulls to right when accelerating

Hi all, I'm new to driving a 4WD so I'm not sure where to start searching on the car. Its a Tahoe LT 2002..

I discovered, now when snow has arrived here, that when accelerating hard in 4WD-Hi and the wheels start slipping a bit I have to steer hard left because tha car pulls hard to the right. As soon as I get off the gas it stabilizes straight and I have to return the wheel fast so I wont fly left into oncoming vehicles. It feels very unstable when stepping hard on the gas but if driven gently it follows the steeringwheel just as it should and does in 2WD.
It's as if the frontwheel drive pushes the wheels to the right.

I'm no stranger to mechanics I just don't know 4WD that good..
Does anyone had this experience and know where to start looking?

Thanks from a snow'y Sweden
/Thomas
Old December 6th, 2010, 8:38 PM
Administrator

Received 154 Likes on 152 Posts

Welcome to the forum.

It could be torque steer effect. I won't comment on the advisability of "hard" acceleration in 4WD on a snowy surface.
Old December 7th, 2010, 1:36 AM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by 73shark
Welcome to the forum.

It could be torque steer effect. I won't comment on the advisability of "hard" acceleration in 4WD on a snowy surface.
Thanks,

Is torque steer effect normal? It feels quite wobbly when on slippery roads and I thought it would be safer with 4WD.

I'm sorry, I probably used the wrong expression. By Hard acceleration I mean like when I start from a redlight and give enough gas so the wheels start to slip. I'm not using the Tahoe for rally cross

/Thomas
Old December 7th, 2010, 4:33 PM