Tahoe & Suburban The power, space, and brutal towing ability make the Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, arguably the best full size SUV's on the market today.

2013 Chevrolet Suburban
Platform: GMT 400, 800, 900

Is VSS wire available inside cab of 2004 Tahoe?

Search this Thread

Old April 23rd, 2010, 3:09 AM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is VSS wire available inside cab of 2004 Tahoe?

I'm installing a Nav/Radio in my 04 Tahoe. It says to connect a wire to the VSS. I researched many forums and found the VSS (dark green/white) is somewhere up by the PCM behind the front grill (somewhere). I'm a bit of a noob and don't want to mess with running a wire through the firewall and tapping into what I'd guess is a waterproof unit. What I'd like to do is find this VSS wire inside the cabin somewhere and tap it there.

Can anyone post an image (best) or description of where I might be able to find it in the cab of my 2004 Tahoe??? I don't think it's available on the radio harness in the 2004, but I'm not sure.

I have non-Bose, no Onstar. I purchased this from the Feds at auction (used Park Police truck) and they backfitted it close to factory except with some cheap/half-broken OEM radio when they stripped all the police stuff out.

Any help would be appreciated.

(FYI - I tried searching for "VSS" in this forum but the forum does not allow searches on words as short as three letters.)

Last edited by dbrucas; April 23rd, 2010 at 3:17 AM. Reason: Added additional info at bottom ("FYI..."
Old April 23rd, 2010, 8:40 PM
Administrator

Received 155 Likes on 153 Posts

Try VSS wire.
Old April 24th, 2010, 2:48 PM
CF Beginner

Question