Tracker 1989-2004
This compact SUV proved itself to be a fine ecnomical vehicle, good for making its way along any type of surface.
Platform: CAMI (Suzuki)

03 Tracker steering problem

Search this Thread

Old February 11th, 2013, 5:15 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 Tracker steering problem

I have an 03 4 door 4X4 Tracker. This summer I started noticing hard spots in the steering while turning. It has gotten much worse. I have quit driving it it has gotten so bad now that it has lost all power steering. I can jack the front end up and it still does this. Lifting the front wheels off the ground helps none at all. I think it could be the steering rack, but have seen that some has had problems with the steering knuckle. Mine looks fine even while turning the steering wheel. Is replacing the rack much of a PITA. I used to be a GM tech many, many years ago but switched jobs and quit twisting wrenches for a living.. I still work on all my cars and trucks, but I'm getting older and really don't know if I'm up to doing this job. It will all have to be done while laying on my back. I don't have a lift, but can get it up on jack stands.
Do you think it's the rack or could it be another problem which I really believe it is the problem. The car has close too 200K miles on it, but other than replacing a rear axle bearing a couple years ago it has preformed flawlessly since I bought it new in 03. I have found used steering racks on Ebay for around 100 bucks.None found local. Also I see shop repair manual CD's on Ebay, are they worth buying . Any help is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by blackoak; February 11th, 2013 at 5:17 PM.
Old February 18th, 2013, 6:28 PM
Former Sponsor

Have you checked the power steering pump?
Old February 23rd, 2013, 11:12 PM
CF Beginner

Originally Posted by go-part
Have you checked the power steering pump?