Notices
TrailBlazer 2002-2009
The TrailBlazer, originally introduced as an upscale Blazer, was produced from 2002 to 2008 with a powerful I6 engine and with a monster V8 offered in the Trailblazer SS
Platform: GMT 305, 360, & 370.

Changed Plugs Truck running Rough - Help!

Old March 7th, 2011, 8:40 PM
  #1  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changed Plugs Truck running Rough - Help!

Hi Folks,

Hopefully someone can help. We have a 2003 Trailblazer, 6 cyl. Yesterday I was changing the spark plugs and I noticed fresh oil around the top of some of the plugs. When I took the plugs out I am sure some of the oil got into the cylinders. Now the truck is running extremely rough, changed the plugs and still running rough. Three questions, it looks like there is a gasket possibly leaking any ideas? Did I hurt anything and what should I do?
Thank you very much, this is my wifes work car and I need to get it fixed ASAP
mcvoss is offline  
Old March 7th, 2011, 8:51 PM
  #2  
Super Moderator
Professional Mechanic
 
MDTAHOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bowie, MD
Posts: 2,950
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

To stop the oil you need valve cover gaskets. What kind if plugs did you use? What gap did you set them at?
MDTAHOE is offline  
Old March 7th, 2011, 9:12 PM
  #3  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MDTAHOE View Post
To stop the oil you need valve cover gaskets. What kind if plugs did you use? What gap did you set them at?
Thank you for the quick response. AC Delco 41-103's. They are Iridium plugs and I was told I didn't need to gap them. I tried those and put the old ones back in and it still ran bad, maybe fouled? I was reading on the valve cover gaskets, do you think I could do them without emptying the freon?

Thanks Again!!
mcvoss is offline  
Old March 8th, 2011, 9:30 AM
  #4  
CF Beginner
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mcvoss View Post
Thank you for the quick response. AC Delco 41-103's. They are Iridium plugs and I was told I didn't need to gap them. I tried those and put the old ones back in and it still ran bad, maybe fouled? I was reading on the valve cover gaskets, do you think I could do them without emptying the freon?

Thanks Again!!
If I had a bad Ignition coil shouldn't I be getting the check engine light?
mcvoss is offline  
Old August 16th, 2014, 9:45 PM
  #5  
CF Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

yes you would get a code for misfire on ## cylinder
jonhamnwa is offline  
Old August 16th, 2014, 10:52 PM
  #6  
CF Pro Member
 
Rednucleus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 866
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

silly question but could you have mixed up wires - only asked cuz that would be something up my alley!!
Rednucleus is offline  
Old August 17th, 2014, 12:59 PM
  #7  
CF Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default no can do

cant mix up wires they are too short and there are no plug wires
jonhamnwa is offline  
Old August 17th, 2014, 8:03 PM
  #8  
CF Active Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I would suggest you go back thru the plug connections for the coils , a lot of times and have seen this discussed many times you don't get those coils snapped back on correctly and it causes problems . You have the correct plugs and no do not gap those plugs ! It is more likely something like this if the vehicle did not exhibit this behavior before the plug change, a little oil in the plug well would not likely cause an issue as long as it isn't a big pool .
vipergg22 is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2014, 9:04 PM
  #9  
CF Beginner
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Working on the neighbors 05 Inline 6 4.2l. Did the same thing, all I did is change the plugs, and it runs bad, if even at all. Sputters, won't even idle on it's own. Can't cross the coil on different coils as they all have a set amount of wire going from the harness to each coil and to get it wrong you would have to criss cross the wires to the coil packs.
MXer746 is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2014, 7:55 AM
  #10  
Administrator
 
in2pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,526
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

How was it running prior to the plug change?
Did you verify the gap of each plug?
Double check that the plugs are the correct ones, preferably OEM and not aftermarket..
Are the wires firmly seated, did you feel and hear the "click"
Its possible the wires are bad and got even worse when handled when removing for the install.
Did you use any anti-seize compound, doing so can disrupt the proper grounding of the plug to the cylinder head...
in2pro is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Changed Plugs Truck running Rough - Help!


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: